• The Chatham School District operates schools in four communities across the north end of Southeast Alaska.  School program leadership is provided by the Superintendent and two principals. One principal is located at the north end of the district responsible for Gustavus and Klukwan, and one at the south end responsible for Angoon and Tenakee Spring. The Superintendent does site visits to all locations. Because we are separated geographically, we rely on technology to facilitate communication and to deliver effective education programs for our students.   
    Our district is an REAA district, which means our schools operate in unincorporated small communities, and we operate from a budget based on state and federal funding rather than local tax-based revenues.   Each of our communities are rich with cultural history, traditions and practices which enrich our schools and teaching environments.